I can’t go on

It’s just getting too much.

Not writing, not life, but reading other people’s scripts/synopses/treatments.

At first I didn’t mind, I was even flattered. Somebody searched the internet for someone to send their cherished material to, and for some unknown reason they chose me. Would I mind reading their work?

Sure, why not?

Now I find this weird, why would anyone choose me? Why wouldn’t you choose the writer of your favourite film? Or at least one you’ve heard of?

Unless they tried everyone else and I was the bottom of the barrel.

I read it, told them what I thought and went to bed with a slightly inflated ego.

Then someone else asked. Would I read their script?

Sure, why not?

Then the first person got in touch again. They paid attention to my opinion (why?). Would I mind reading the revised version?

Erm, yeah. I’m a little busy but … what the hell, I’ll fit it in.

And so it went on. Last week I read four scripts and two treatments. I read more than I wrote. The majority of the writing I did last week was comments/reviews and suggestions.

It’s got to stop. I want to be able to help other people (seriously, why are they asking me?) but it’s eating into my time. I thought briefly about charging to read stuff, just to discourage casual callers; but I don’t want to get into that. I don’t want people actually paying me money to read and review scripts; I’m a writer, not a script consultant.

Although, I have done a bit of script editing, which is nearly the same thing – except a damn sight more profitable.

I’ve got to draw a line under it. No more. I just can’t get my own work done and keep reading more and more of other people’s work.

So I apologise to the people whose work I’ve read and commented on four or five drafts of, but I can’t read any more. I apologise to anyone else who might get in touch in the next few weeks/months/years (no, really, why are you emailing me? Email James Moran, he’s almost famous for a writer) but I don’t have the time for everyone.

I’m sorry and I feel like an arsehole even writing this, but I really, really can’t do it anymore.

Categories: Sad Bastard | 5 Comments

Post navigation

5 thoughts on “I can’t go on

  1. Moviequill

    I usually read 2-3 scripts per week (of released movies)then I recently read an interview with producer Lawrence Turman and he says don’t read any haha… that screenplays are a bastardized form of writing structure and should only ever be used as a blueprint/tool for a movie, not reading

  2. You bastard.

    I was just about to send you my 300 page script called “My Life”. It’s based on a really funny thing that happened to me back in college.

    It’s a stageplay, but could just as easily be a TV show or on the radio.

    It’s also Science Fiction, and it’s going to be brilliant, because I never read or watch Science Fiction, so I’ll be bringing a fresh eye and whole new approach to the genre.

    And if you don’t like it, you’re just plain wrong. How can you possibly make an assessment of my vast talent when you still have a day job sometimes?

    And now you won’t even read it.

    I’m so shitting on you in my BAFTA acceptance speech.

  3. Todd: Yeah … not sure I agree with that.

    I think reading a mixture of good and bad scripts is a good thing; but I’d rather pick and choose what and when, than be deluged with scripts I feel obligated to read just because someone asked me to.

    Piers: Sounds great! Please send it over straight away. My address is:

    The White House
    1600 Pennsylvania Avenue NW
    Washington, DC 20500

    Just mark it ‘Die you yankee infidels’ and be sure to include your return address.

  4. TonyB

    I’ve just discovered your blog and I like it. However, could I put in a polite request?

    Often, the most interesting part of a blog entry are the ensuing comments, and I find your comments section almost impossible to read!

    Tiny pale grey text against a dark grey background is not conducive to easy scanning! Most other blogs have the comments in a pop up box in good old fashioned black text on a white background. Perhaps you could rejig the design to make things easier to read? Thanks in advance.

  5. I have no idea how to do that, Tony. I use a theme which does it all automatically, but I will look into it. If you have any idea, let me know.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

