Sitting in the dark

During a herculean procrastination session, I found this on Rotunda Films’ website:

We are sorry to announce that officially Rotunda Films is no longer involved with Chameleon. After some serious issues and concerns we decided that the best course of action for our company would be to cease all involvement in the project.

The writer is also now searching for a new production company to take the project on after Chi Media failed to get the project ready in time.

What? You’ve never heard of Chameleon? Do none of you pay attention to the intricacies of my career?

No? Oh well.

Chameleon is (or rather, was) a feature film I re-wrote for Rotunda Films, and I suppose by extension, Chi Media. It was set to star Zara Phythian, who is apparently a big name in martial arts circles. All I know about her is what it says on her website, but I can say I wouldn’t want to be on the receiving end of her hands and feet when she’s in a bad mood.

The film falling through is news to me. I had absolutely no idea; but then, I’m just a writer.

I’m not, however, the writer who’s searching for a new production company; that would be Mike Anka who wrote the original script, or maybe a book? No idea there either.

In fact, I have very little idea of what happened at any stage during the project. And why should I? I am, after all, just a writer for hire. I don’t even know if Mike Anka was aware the script was being re-written, or why he didn’t/couldn’t do it himself.

I just don’t know anything.

Which was always the popular playground opinion, back in the day. Only they didn’t phrase it quite like that.

So there we are, and here I am: sitting in the dark wondering what the hell happened. I’ve fired off an email in a vain attempt to find out, but no reply as of yet.

The real kicker in all this is, the majority of the money was payable when production started.

Bugger. Back to eating woodlice from the garden then.

Categories: Two steps back | 9 Comments

Post navigation

9 thoughts on “Sitting in the dark

  1. Ooh.

    I remember being terribly disappointed when I found out they were looking for writers for this, because I didn’t have an action spec to use as a sample. And I rather liked the look of it.

    And then being terribly excited a while later when I found out that you’d got the gig. Cos at least then I could live it vicariously.

    So, back to disappointment for a while then. Ah well.

    Care for another woodlouse? I’ve found this fabulous new recipe…

  2. I didn’t even know they were looking for writers until they got in touch with me. I know there was one other writer in the mix who they preferred over me, but he let them down in some way, leaving the position free for me to slouch into.

  3. Commiserations, Phill. That’s a tough break.

    But hey, if you get enough woodlice together and then throw in some artichoke hearts or something, you’ll have risotto.

  4. Ta, Christine; but them’s the breaks.

    Apparently.

    Risotto, eh? I feel an impovrished writer’s cook book coming on.

  5. Moviequill

    Just wondering why it isn’t possible to comment on your older blog entries? Is there logic behind it? Sometimes I don’t troll the blogs until the weekend, and then I am not able to toss in my two cents in any kind of relevent fashion

  6. You can comment on past posts, you just need to click on the post title to open it up.

    Took me a while to work that one out.

  7. Yeah, commenting here’s not the easiest thing in the world. And the grey-on-grey colour scheme doesn’t really help either.

    Just sayin’.

  8. Right, that’s three complaints now. How about this?

  9. Ooh, that’s much better. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

