How to write sketches (The Aftermath)

I went to The Treason Show on Friday night for the usual mix of mirth, songs, nudity and corpsing. They did perform the sketch, so I can breathe a sigh of relief and actually finish the series of posts.

If you haven’t read them, they’re around here somewhere. The basic gist was: how I write topical satire; and: a blow by blow account of an example. If you really feel the need to go back over them, they’re here and here. With a brief moment of panic here.

The sketch was on in the first half of the show. This is a blessing and a curse. A blessing because I’ve often heard it said they put the stronger material in the first half. The curse being, they only do this because it’s harder to get a laugh during the first half. By the second half, the audience is drunk enough to laugh at anything.

As usual, the biggest laughs went to the dirtiest swear word and the corpsing.

They’d chosen to perform the sketch as a video conference, so Blair was on a TV screen whilst Ahmadinejad was on stage. They changed the beginning slightly, adding in a secretary to announce Tony’s call.

Either there were some technical problems with the sound, or they’d deliberately put it out of synch to simulate a satellite link. Either way, I’m not sure it helped; and I’m not sure the begging worked as well without Blair clutching Ahmadinejad’s leg.

Other than that, it got some solid laughs throughout. The ending was a bit weak, but still garnered some laughs.

Throughout the show, I had six sketches performed; five of which were in the first half. (Blessing? Curse? You decide.)

The only sketch which really fell flat was one about Snoop Dogg being refused a visa. I think the main problem here was, either people had forgotten/never knew about the story; or they had absolutely no clue who Snoop Dogg is.

I suspect the latter, there were a lot of blank faces around.

All in all, I’m pretty pleased with the performances and the reception of the sketches. The one which got the most laughs, I can’t reprint here. I can’t even explain why I can’t reprint it, except to say it would cost me a lot of money.

On a weird side note, I found out they’ve produced a CD which has a handful of my sketches on. I assume it’s the best of the last year, I only wish I’d been able to write more.

So there you have it, a satirical sketch from conception, construction and onto performance. Shame I couldn’t record it to show you how it went down, but that’s the nature of the beast – it’s all disposable and when it’s gone, it’s gone.

Unless it turns up on a ‘best of’ CD next year.

Categories: My Way, Sad Bastard | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

