Cannes: Day 5

Right, ahem.

(Shuffles feet a little shamefacedly.)

So, yesterday’s infuriation has been sated. Marion had a phone call this morning and explained what it was all about over breakfast. Basically, it has nothing to do with me.

Well, that’s not strictly true, it has a hell of a lot of bearing on what happens to my script, but that’s an indirect result of the meeting. Or a direct result, but as a side effect. Or something.

I still don’t know all the details, and a lot of the ones I do know I’m probably not supposed to share, so I won’t; but in a nutshell, the second meeting was about a deal between Marion’s company, Dawn Dusk Films, and the company we went to see.

Their name is one of the things I probably can’t mention, yet.

They really like how far she’s come with ‘The Seventh Sword of Bathrick’ and wanted to talk with her about what kinds of films she likes and where she wants to go afterwards. They liked what she had to say, they like the way she works and they like the kinds of films she likes; so they’ve offered to executive produce her films from now on, starting with my script.

They’re bringing partial finance, production knowledge and distribution to the deal; using Marion as their producer in Britain – at least that’s how I understand it. Not being a producer, it’s all a little bit above my head; but the upshot is, it’s all good.

So in essence, the meeting had nothing to do with me specifically; it’s all about their two companies working together. It just so happens the first project will be mine. This is absolutely fantastic news, it brings the whole project another giant step closer to production, which can only be a good thing.

Could she have told me yesterday?

Yeah, probably. It was a deal between her and them, but it would have been nice to share. On the other hand, considering she didn’t even tell her own son, I now know that she can absolutely keep a secret – even one which must have had her wanting to literally jump for joy.

All in all, it’s a fantastic piece of news and I’m very happy.

Apart from that, I haven’t really done much today; just arsed around. I sat around with the producers from the Atlantic Picture Company and we thrashed out a rough treatment for a comedy feature.

I wrote up a good chunk of the character outlines for the TV mini-series I was asked about the other day.

And I ate quite a lot of ice-cream.

Now all I’ve got to do is pack up and get ready to come home tomorrow. Hmm, make that today, in five hours time; but then lack of sleep is what Cannes is all about.

Categories: Festivals, Progress, Sad Bastard | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

