Recommendations?

I turned my computer on this morning and found I had 41 emails, but when I looked at Outlook Express, there were no new ones to be seen.

Odd.

Scrolling up revealed the sneaky buggers, interspersed among the ones I’d already read over the last 48 hours. Once again, my increasingly erratic email service has randomly opted to hold some messages back and allow others through. Some of the messages had been delayed by two days, others turn up instantly; so, for example, I get the message:

“Why are you fucking ignoring me?”

Twelve hours before I get the one that says:

“Hi Phill, are you available for a meeting on … ”

And once more I’m reminded I really, really should change my web-hosting to one which actually forwards on the emails when it gets them rather than when it feels like it.

So that’s what this is, a plea for some recommendations. I want some cheap web-hosting with a reasonable sized web-space. This time, I also want someone who provide both a POP3 server and an SMTP one, so I can actually send emails from my phone instead of confusing the fuck out of everyone by reading their emails and replying by text.

Is that too much to ask?

I don’t know, on the grounds I know very little about this sort of thing.

I’m with 123-Reg at the moment and I really don’t want to give them any more money, if I can avoid it; on the grounds they’re part of the Pipex group and should stop hiring David Hasselhoff for their adverts and spend the money on some fucking customer service monkeys so I can actually get the fucking service I’ve paid for.

I could rant on, but I’m tired. So if anyone knows anything about the subject (web-hosting, not Pipex being a bunch of illiterate muppets) and can recommend a good provider, I’d love to hear from you.

Thank you very much.

Categories: Random Witterings, Rants | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “Recommendations?

  1. Eleanor Piper

    Other people will boo and hiss, but virgin media send me my emails on time!
    Their customer service may need work, and their tech help is about as useful as a chocolate tea-pot (same as all the others from what I can see). But as long as nothing goes wrong, they’re pretty good.
    I certainly prefer them to BT.
    Pays your money, takes your choice.
    Which evil do you prefer?

  2. I use email through BT internet, and it seems to be swift and efficient, doing what you describe above with no problems at all… I think this is it: http://www.productsandservices.bt.com/consumerProducts/displayProduct.do?productId=CON-16440
    Sorry for long link.

  3. Eleanor

    Oh sorry. I’m being thick.

    Web-hosting?
    netfirms seem okay. http://www.netfirms.com. I’m guessing they have the smtp as well as pop3?

  4. No, you’re not being thick – it’s me not explaining myself properly.

    My emails come through my website (www.phillipbarron.co.uk), with my email address using that domain. I’m not looking to change my email address, since too many people have it.

    In a nutshell, I’m looking to relocate my website to another web-hosting provider who also provide POP3 and SMTP servers.

    I will check out netfirms, ta very much.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

