A feature in five days – Day One

So, Day One of my latest project: a feature script which has to be finished in five days (by Sunday, I’m not working on Saturday).

How did I do?

Well, my target was 18 pages a day and I managed …

10.

Okay, 9. One line on page 10 doesn’t count.

Why so few?

Well, because I spent most of the day doing this:

09102007071.jpg

Isn’t it pretty?

  • Pink = romance
  • Green = the sub plot
  • Yellow = his complication
  • Blue = her complication
  • White = miscellaneous plot stuff

Where am I after 10 pages (alright, 9)?

See the top row? The first card? See where it splits from white to pink?

About there.

I’m guessing I’m going to have to trim that a little.

While I was spending most of the day pinning pretty colours to a notice board, I kept thinking about Arnold Rimmer in the first Red Dwarf book. Rimmer used to spend so long designing his revision timetables he didn’t have enough time to do any revision and therefore, failed his exams.

Not the most pleasant thought to have when you’re working to a deadline, but it is a very pretty board.

My new, revised schedule is 81 pages in 4 days.

20 and 1/4 pages a day.

Easy.

Categories: Progress, Sad Bastard | 14 Comments

Post navigation

14 thoughts on “A feature in five days – Day One

  1. If you’ve got your outline down (and it is a very pretty outline) 20 pages per day’s doable, if that’s pretty much all you do. I do a similar coloured outline thingy, but in Excel. More or less geeky? You decide.

  2. [waves pompoms]

    Phill Phill Phill! Rah Rah Rah!

    Of course, you have to imagine me wearing a cheerleaders outfit for the full, brain-melting effect.

    Good luck!

  3. ‘ <- Here is the missing apostrophe for that last comment

  4. Eleanor

    Stop reading these replies and get to writing! *rolls eyes*

  5. Lizzy

    Ohhh very pretty board Phill! I want one just like it!

  6. I’d love to reply, but Eleanor might tell me off again.

  7. Have your central character attacked by a lion in the high street.

  8. Have you been reading my notes?

  9. Pingback: Indelible Freckles » Blog Archive » Point & Click

  10. Pingback: 101 Reasons to Stop Writing : » Weekend Update (8-14 October 2007)

  11. Pingback: Mixbag « The Jobbing Scriptwriter

  12. Pingback: Back to work « The Jobbing Scriptwriter

  13. Pingback: January’s script challenge - Day three « The Jobbing Scriptwriter

  14. Pingback: Pages | INDELIBLE FRECKLES

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

