A feature in five days – Day Five

I’ve done it.

122 pages of glory.

Or about 60 pages of glory and 62 pages of shit; I’m not sure yet.

122 is a bit over the asking length of 90 pages, but there was a lot of ground to cover. Plus, I haven’t edited anything I wrote today, or even read it or spell-checked it properly.

To be honest, I’m fucked.

But the script is away, and that’s the important thing.

It may be 30% too long, riddled with spelling mistakes and generally a bit shit; but it’s on time.

I did it.

A feature in five days.

Sort of.

It’s 4.17 in the morning and I’m still up. Does that count as an extra day? I didn’t start until 12.30 yesterday, so I don’t think it does.

Maths:

Shit.

I started this morning (or yesterday afternoon, if you’re being picky) at 63 pages. I finished just now at 122 pages. That means I wrote 59 pages today.

Theoretically, that means I could write a feature in two days.

Hell, with an early enough start I could probably knock one out in 24 hours.

In fact I … oh shit, I’ve gone blind.

Categories: Progress, Sad Bastard | 14 Comments

Post navigation

14 thoughts on “A feature in five days – Day Five

  1. you. are. the. man.

    you… you crazy person, you.

    rest well.

  2. Cool!

  3. Hooray!

    (Cheer sincerely meant btw. Hooray always comes across as sarcastic in print.)

  4. Eleanor

    Yay! 🙂

    I think the blindness passes… It’s the migrane and loss of all sense of reality that you’ve got to watch out for. Any time-loss is explainable, you’e still wearing that time-helmet! 😉

    5 days. Groovy. 🙂

  5. Thanks guys.

    The worrying thing here is I’ve got a meeting at 5 tonight to discuss the script. I can’t remember what I wrote!

    Last time I panic wrote to a deadline I accidentally put the hardcore gangsters in tap-dancing lion costumes.

    I shit you not.

    As for that damn time helmet, I wish I did have one since I’ve just missed my train by 2 minutes. Now I’m going to be 30 mins late for my noon meeting.

  6. I bow down to your god-like page-smithing ability.

    Good luck with the meeting; here’s hoping they don’t ask for a complete re-write in 12 hours.

  7. You joke, but there’s a very good chance.

  8. You’ve done a mans job, sir.

    Nothing like a deadline to get you going. Bet it’s a killer script.

  9. I don’t feel like a man right now. I’m exhausted and ready for bed.

    The official word was really positive. It’s too long and needs a little work, but overall everyone’s happy.

  10. This is a fucking mental achievement, sir.

    In a good way, naturellement.

  11. Eleanor

    Cool! 🙂

  12. F’king amazing! I believe there’s a How-to book on the American site of Amazon selling a book called ‘How to write a screenplay in 21 days’ or something similar. Looks like you’ll have to update it to a 5 days How-to book!

    What we would like you to do now Phill, is pop over to Paris, (well you’ve got time to spare now), where the English rugby team are awaiting a pep talk from you, entitled ‘How to beat the Springboks in less than 5 days from now’.

  13. I thought one went blind from playing too hard, not working too hard.

    Well done sir.

    Now go back to bed and get some sleep.

  14. Very impressive! Hope you’ve had some rest now and recovered.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

