Simply the best

img004.jpg

So, this is the thing I got an invite to.

Which is very exciting.

The email also said:

A meet, greet and have a drink kind of a night. An informal evening to gather together the best of Britain’s new young writing talent and to let you know what we are up to and what we are looking for here in the BBC New Comedy Unit.”

Which is also very exciting.

… the best of Britain’s new young writing talent …

That’s me that is.

the best …”

And that’s from the BBC so it’s official.

See? I told you so. Didn’t I tell you so? And no one would believe me.

Anyway, this sounds like a great opportunity and one I’m really looking forward to.

Did I mention I was excited?

I did?

What about being the best? Did I mention I was the best?

Okay then.

I figured it was important to do a bit of research; you know, find out which producers are going to be there, what shows they’ve done, what sort of thing they might like. Then I figured I should prep a few ideas, or at least review the ones I’ve written in the past, just in case anyone asks or it happens to come up in conversation. Plus, I figured it might be nice to find out if there were any other writers I know who might be able to hold my hand or at least let me hide behind them if it all gets too much.

Obviously, this is a lot of figuring to do in one go, so I needed a little lie down.

Unfortunately, the little lie down lasted a bit longer than I expected and I haven’t had time to do any of it.

I did put ‘BBC New Comedy Unit’ into Google, just so I’d have a rough idea who was going to be there.

Ah, Google, the old faithful source of all knowledge. Google, who’s never yet let me down. Google, who’s … oh.

Nothing.

Google – you bastard.

Well, not nothing. There was a New Comedy Unit in Manchester in 2005.

Doesn’t help really.

Balls.

Never mind, I know a few people at the BBC – I’ll ask them.

Nope, they’ve never heard of it either.

Ah.

Right.

Obviously, it’s so new that it’s still a secret. Cool! I’m getting in on the ground floor – presumably because I’m the best.

Did I mention that?

Yes, that must be it; it’s obviously a secret unit which only reveals itself on the first full moon after the vernal equinox. A secret revealed only to those deemed worthy enough of being titled ‘the best’

Bugger.

I probably shouldn’t have blogged about it then.

Oh well, too late now.

I have no idea what to expect, I have no idea what’s going to happen or who will be there or even what’s expected of me … but I am looking forward to it and I’m hoping it will at least be fun.

I’ll let you know tomorrow.

Categories: BBC, Progress | 10 Comments

Post navigation

10 thoughts on “Simply the best

  1. PS Did I mention I was now officially ‘the best’?

  2. crustynomad

    Hmmm….no, I don’t think so.

    The thing to remember Phil is would you go if it had said: ‘An informal evening to gather together some of Croydon’s rapidly aging writers who MIGHT be slightly talented.’ especially if it came from the QVC channel.

    Somebody has finish off those cheese and pickle sandwiches before the best before date.

  3. Curse you and your realistic world view.

  4. Are you not worried you’re going to walk into a warehouse with only a card table and meat hooks, a la Goodfellas?

  5. Well, I wasn’t …

    Thanks for that image, Oli. I’m off to have a little panic now.

  6. Didn’t take too much notice the other day, because I thought: Oh those things are 10 a penny – but an invite from the BBC? That’s seriously impressive – that invite is gold dust!

    Scan it through your gay laptop, and send us all copy will yah? – we won’t embarrass you, (hee hee, yeah we will).

  7. I’m quite capable of embarrassing myself, thank you.

  8. Eleanor

    Why did they print the invite on wallpaper? 😕

  9. Because they’re the BBC and they can.

  10. Pingback: Not meeting the producers « The Jobbing Scriptwriter

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

