Bridging the gap

I’ve been thinking over the weekend about the big bloody hole in the treatment I’m working on and it occurs to me there’re two ways to proceed:

  1. Refer back to the concept and the theme, rethink the structure and make detailed plans for a modified story and the way forward.
  2. Start writing in a blind panic and hope by the time I’ve reached the gap I’ve built up enough momentum to carry me over it.

Of course I’ve already eliminated several other options like running away, killing myself, killing everyone else so there’s no one to left to notice, faking a nervous breakdown or giving up writing and inventing anew kind of whisk instead; so to my mind the two options left are the two sensible options.

Well, one sensible option and one bloody stupid one. Option one is obviously the rational, professional approach. I, of course, am choosing option two.

The plan is to type as fast as I can, with my eyes closed whilst screaming like a little girl.

That should do the trick.

Categories: My Way, Random Witterings | 10 Comments

Post navigation

10 thoughts on “Bridging the gap

  1. Hey, I’ve copyrighted the “typing as fast as you can with your eyes closed, whilst screaming like a little girl,” method of writing, and indeed it will be the title of my next writing help book.

  2. Your next book? How many have you written? And how could you leave the ‘closing your eyes and screaming’ technique out of the first one?

  3. That’s how I always type … with the added advantage that I am, in fact, a girl.

  4. Darren

    I just scream… and do no typing at all. Not surprisingly, I’m not getting much done.

  5. Eleanor: you have to scream like the opposite gender or it doesn’t work.

    Darren: have you tried that speech to text software? You never know, it might decode your wild screeching as a work of pure genius. I believe that’s how Shakespeare used to work.

  6. Darren

    I thought he used monkeys… lots and lots of them.

  7. That’s true. He screamed at an infinite number of monkeys and they translated for him.

  8. Phil, I tried screaming like a big man one time … the results were not good.

    Maybe that’s why I’m having such difficulty with my lifestyle?

  9. I screamed like a monkey once, which is why you should never keep a fresh cup of coffee anywhere near your groin. I hope that’s helped you Phill.

  10. It does, very much so.

    Thank you.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

