That was better

I’m not planning on giving a running commentary for every episode of Doctor Who, partly because it’d be incredibly dull, but mostly because who gives a fuck what I think?

I think you’re in trouble when you go around believing your opinions mean anything to anyone outside of your own head. Mind you, that’s just my opinion and is therefore neither fact nor to be trusted.

Still, since I went out of my way to express mild disappointment with last week’s episode, I feel it’s only fair I redress the balance here.

The Time of Angels – fuck me, that was awesome.

In my (nominally worthless) opinion.

Categories: Random Witterings | 13 Comments

Post navigation

13 thoughts on “That was better

  1. Michael Cook

    I think you mean:

    I’m not planning on giving a running commentary for every episode of Doctor Who, partly because it’d be incredibly dull, but mostly because who gives a fuck what I think?

    I think you’re in trouble when you go around believing your opinions mean anything to anyone outside of your own head. Mind you, that’s just my opinion and is therefore neither fact nor to be trusted.

    Still, since I went out of my way to express mild disappointment with last week’s episode, I feel it’s only fair I redress the balance here.

    The Time of Angels – fuck me, that was **COMING NEXT; GRAHAM NORTON FINDS A DOROTHY!!** awesome.

    In my (nominally worthless) opinion.

  2. Ah, I didn’t experience the Graham Norton interference. Either it wasn’t on HD, we stopped it before that happened or people were talking over it.

    Either way, there was nothing to spoil the marvelousness.

    • Michael Cook

      It wasn’t on HD, apparently. Only us plebs suffered (and only English plebs too).

      You couldn’t have missed it had it been there – it wasn’t relegated to the credits, just to the DRAMATIC CLIMAX OF THE EPISODE, THAT’S ALL.

      The episode was, indeed, mighty fine.

  3. “Time of Angels” is to “Blink” as “Aliens” is to “Alien”.

    New awesomeness.

    And the Dorothy thing was utterly appalling. I might actually complain.

  4. I don’t pay my license fee for that kind of interruption.
    At least at the end of the previous program they don’t spoil what you’re about to watch by telling you the entire plot of the thing you want to watch… so far.
    Grrr!!

  5. I didn’t appreciate the Dorothy banner getting in the way of the story either.

  6. That Dorothy banner was far too big, and never should have been there in the first place. GRRR!!

  7. Here’s a link to their complaints form:

    https://www.bbc.co.uk/complaints/forms/

    if you want to give them some verbal.

  8. I LOVED it. Like you, I’d kinda been thinking, “mmm..” for the last couple of episodes, and was getting a bit worried. The plots suddenly seemed really slight, some of the action seemed a bit dodgy and then we had those… very underwhelming daleks. I dunno, for the first time since it came back, I suddenly felt as if I was watching a kids show. And that bloody new version of the theme music, even if it shouldn’t matter at all, combined with everything else, was irritating the hell out of me. It just all felt a bit off-kilter. I hasten to add that I have been loving Matt and Karen. Cause I’m suddenly on first name terms with them, for some reason. Anyway, happy to say that last night was a blinder. Exciting. Scary. Pacey. Funny. Then I realised something. Last night’s director was the same as ep 1 (which I’d also loved) and “Beast” and “Victory” had a different director, which may have something to do with it. Not to slag him off, but…

    • Hmm … possibly, I don’t know. They were very differently paced episodes anyway. Beast is quite calm and trickles forward without much running about; Victory is set pretty much in two rooms so it’s all kind of stationary anyway.

      You may be right, but I think it’s probably harder to inject tension into either of those two stories. The dramatic reveals in both cases were tinged with a bit of ‘Eh?’.

      “Half human, half smiler!”

      Oh my God! That’s … um … eh? What does that mean? Oh never mind, he’s gone now.

      “Spitfires in space!”

      Fuck, that is so cool it’s … eh? Where did they come from? Hang on, have they just built them?

      And so on. Kind of hard to build dramatic tension when half of your brain is trying to work out if it makes sense or not.

  9. Thanks for de-spamming my status and reposting my rant….
    *Looks at Phil* I seem to remember it a little differently. But that covers the main points! 🙂

  10. Yeah, the smilers were one of those things that probably sounded good on paper.

    “They’re a fairground image! And they’re dolls! They’re always scary.”

    Fact is, WHY were they there. Why would the society within the story have smilers? Apart from the fact they are cool/scary?

    I did like Liz X though, as a character. There just wasn’t much of a plot, and what the one they had was paper thin, which is maybe why it was quite calm and trickled along. Did they want an ep that trickled along? Can’t imagine so.

    I didn’t mind Victory as a story, I have to say. I did get the “they built and fitted the gravity thingies in about five minutes. What??” but I let it pass cause…. it was spitfires in space!!

    Oh, now we are criting every ep, which is what you didn’t want to do! But then we have waited almost 2 yrs for a full series…

    • I think the smilers were there to weed out unsuitable people/no hopers who could then be fed to the Star Whale … or something like that.

      Maybe.

      Of course that means they still need to feed the damn thing now it’s happily ferrying them around … and it’s got a taste for human flesh!

      But yes, generally it did all seem to get forgotten about and become irrelevant in (what I’ve recently realised) is the best traditions of Classic Who – intriguing bits of suspense/drama which lead nowhere and mean nothing.

      Of course, in the old days of 4 (or 6) x 25 min episodes you’d completely forgotten what happened in the first couple of episodes by the time you got to the end. These random bits are a bit more obvious in 45 mins with no week long pause in the middle.

      As for the pace – yeah, I think they probably did want a slower paced episode. The first one is all shouty, shouty and run, run, run! I personally wanted a slower pace to get to know the characters a bit more.

      Oh and I don’t mind discussing the episodes like this – I just don’t want to get into the habit of delivering my pronouncements on them in dedicated posts. This is discussion, not me shouting my unwanted opinion at people.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

