Persona

Some of you know this and the rest may have figured it out by now; but just in case you didn’t – Persona, the daily soap opera created exclusively for smartphones, re-launched last Monday.

I probably should have told you all on the day, but I didn’t for two very poor reasons:

  1. It was smack in the middle of my holiday where touching my laptop for anything beyond the odd tweet would have earnt me a trip to the naughty box. (Like the naughty step/spot but with more barbed wire).
  2. I actually think it’s better to wait until there are half a dozen appisodes released so you can watch them all in one block before starting daily viewing. I think if you just watch the first appisode on its own, it’s not really long enough to hook you. Five or six appisodes gives you enough time to work out if you like the characters or not and makes daily, byte-sized viewing that little bit more palatable.

Possibly a load of balls, but that’s my theory and I’m childishly sticking with it.

So … yeah, Persona available worldwide on iPhone and Android. You can either search for PERSONA DRAMA in the App Store or Market or click these links:

iPhone

Android

If you’ve got a Blackberry … I don’t know why there isn’t an app available yet. Sorry.

If you’ve got a Windows phone … I’d love to hear from you. Seriously. I don’t know anyone who owns a Windows 7 phone – I mean, I’ve met lots of historic Windows phones users, but absolutely zero Windows 7 phone users.

Oh wait, that’s a lie. I knew one guy who worked for Microsoft who had to have one; but the minute he resigned he switched to an Android phone.

Has anyone even seen a Windows 7 phone outside a phone shop? I’m not having a pop, if you’ve got one I’m genuinely curious to know.

Although you can’t watch Persona either.

The app is totally free (for those who have the right phone) and looks almost exactly like this:

Amazingly, the appisodes are all completely free too; so you can watch and (hopefully) enjoy risk free. The appisodes run Monday to Friday and last between a minute and a half to two minutes each. You can watch them anywhere you choose. Except possibly on the moon. Or maybe in the shower. Unless you put your phone in a plastic bag.

Unless, of course, you haven’t got an iPhone or Android phone – in which case, you can’t. Well, you could still put your phone in a bag; but it would just look silly.

I’ve been running the writing team for the show, a thoroughly pleasant task when you consider the first season (roughly a month of appisodes) was written by such awesome scribes as Ronnie Mackintosh, John Soanes and Adam Spinks. All of whom you can follow on Twitter (Ronnie, John, Adam) or in real life if you know their addresses and so desire.

There’s a website too: http://whatsyourpersona.co.uk/ which has all sorts of other stuff including a trailer, a quiz and a online dating thing. That’s right, Persona can help you get laid!

Oh, apparently I’m legally obliged to tell you it can’t help you get laid. Sorry. But if you all watch it, it might help me get laid!

Oh, apparently it won’t.

Everyone can look at the website though, aren’t you lucky?

So there you go, Persona available on iPhone and Android – a daily soap opera broken up into little chunks you can watch on the go. Download, watch, enjoy.

If anyone’s got any feedback, good or bad, I’d love to hear it. As usual I shall blushingly ignore the good out of sheer embarrassment and take all the bad to heart, seething in my own self-loathing until I take it out on the cat. Or someone else’s cat.

Categories: Persona | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

