Glove Slap – The Next Generation

Yesterday, I wrote another 10 sketches (nearer 20, actually; but only 10 of the requested type) which brings the final total up to 33.

I’m quite pleased with that – I even feel I could keep going. I’ve hit a seam of inspiration which appears to be much, much deeper than I first imagined; but I’ve stopped and I’m not going any further. They only need 12 sketches (two per episode) and while I’m all for giving people choice – and enough for the second series – I’m also aware I’m now competing with myself and just knocking my own work out of the running order.

So, enough is enough.

33, I’m happy with that.

And to be honest, I have to be, because I’m off on a new challenge – like Anneka Rice but without the crap tracksuit.

I’ve just picked up another feature film gig – a RomCom this time.

The catch?

It has to be written in a week.

One week from today, there has to be a good first draft in the Producer’s inbox.

Why the rush? Well, it seems someone else is in direct competition for the same finance source with a very similar script. Our project was around first and the other one seems to be a rip off, but the original script simply isn’t good enough.

Which is where I come in.

Can I write a better script than both the original writer and the competitor in a week?

Who knows?

But it’s going to be fun finding out.

I’ll start tomorrow, I can’t do anything next Saturday – oh, and it needs to be done by Sunday afternoon – five days, that’s only 18 pages a day.

I can do that, surely?

I wrote 17 sketches yesterday, which were between 1 and 3 pages each – that’s somewhere in the region of 40 pages of material, so 18 … easy?

Of course, not all of those sketches were good (or barely more than acceptable) and it’s easier to focus on a 3 page sketch than a 90 page movie – but the principle’s the same.

Actually, no it’s not.

I haven’t really thought this through … bollocks.

Still, I’ve written a ten page outline already – so I’m not going into it completely cold, and I know my characters quite well … it’s not impossible.

It’s set in a city and a country I’ve never been to, but … no, it’ll be fine. I’ll be fine. Nothing’s impossible.

Except striking a match on a bar of soap.

Categories: BBC, BBC Sketch Show, Progress | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “Glove Slap – The Next Generation

  1. Eleanor

    I’ve left a time-machine helmet in the cupboard under your sink.

    Good luck! 😉

  2. Thank you very much, although I don’t like the colour.

  3. Pingback: Indelible Freckles » Blog Archive » Point & Click

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.